Singapore

Hi Everyone, I am Shilpa. Welcome to my travelogue. I love travelling. I enjoy talking, meeting people, making new friends. I am a nature lover and Avengers fan.

This blog is about my first trip with my husband. You might assume it is our honeymoon. Well you are technically correct, only it happened after almost 2 years of our wedding. Marriage in india is a costly affair. Honestly, ours wasn’t a big fat kind off wedding but since we both invested all our savings, we weren’t left with any option, only to postpone it.

Finally we were able to save up some money, one day out of blue my husband asked me to choose a destination to travel and I went crazy. I think he knew how desperate I want to travel somewhere nice. So for this long-awaited honeymoon we chose Singapore.

Here my experiences and few suggestions which I really hope will help you to plan your vacation to this beautiful country.

Getting Around:- There are couple of options to travel around like metro, uber, local buses and cabs. I will suggest local buses and metros (Singapore’s MRT) to travel around. This way you can get a vibe of country and it’s culture and it also helps to save some money. Get a metro pass for your duration in Singapore to save some more. We also prefer to travel via public transport and eat local food. Most people say 2-3 days are enough in Singapore. But I will advise you to stay at least 6 to 8 days. Singapore has plenty to offer. We went for 8 days. Everyday we did different activities, saw different places.

The walk:- Explore Singapore while walking within the main cities (if you don’t have a kid along). This way you can see their beautiful parks and architecture. While just strolling around we saw a beautiful  bride and groom, reminded me of our wedding and a very old and beautiful hotel called Raffles. They allow you inside. So it was a perk for us. 

Singapore Zoo:- Known as world best rainforest zoo. They have reserved wildlife so beautifully as if you are walking in real jungle. They have taken care of all safety measures for us and for wildlife too. It is build on open concept which offers visitors from around the world the opportunity to be inspired by the wonders of nature and wildlife. Animals here live in spacious and landscaped environment. Home to more than 2,400 specimens of over 300 species. They do shows also which is performed by our beautiful little friends.

Night Safari:- Go for night safari. It’s really awesome. If you ever wish to walk in real jungle so please get down and walk in the trails. Just don’t sit in the tram all the time. We felt as if we are walking in jungle. And I was looking for my Bagheera and Baloo and at a same time was so scared from Shere Khan and Kaa, what if they caught us. Oh god It scared the hell out of me but it’s fun and trust me safe too. 

Jurong Bird Park:-I remember there is one section of bats and butterfly at Jurong Bird Park. They were so beautifully living together. It was really peaceful and natural. My husband took video. Please click below link to watch it. 

Jurong Bird Park has made beautiful bridges inside it. They did their best to keep wilderness.

River Safari:- It’s a river theme zoo and aquarium. Home to threatened species such as the giant panda. During the river safari I had a chance to meet my giant friend. He was so cute. He was playing with branches. It’s like I am meeting real “Po” from Kung Fu Panda.

Amazon River Quest:-And how can I forget to mention a small boat ride experience at river safari. It’s fun, 2-3 people can sit at a time. Imagine you are sitting in a boat which takes you through the path filled with wild life and anyone can attack, don’t worry, all were harmless creatures. I thought I am sitting in some hollywood movie set like Jurassic Park. While writing I am still getting goose bumps.

Shopping delight:-Ladies please go shopping at Bugis. It’s so good and cheap. I end up spending good amount of money here but it was worth:)

Party time:-Clarke Quay has beautiful colonial-era architecture. Best time to go from evening till late at night. This is the place to enjoy night life. Clarke Quay has so much to offer. Streets filled with sea food and music. This place is full of life and energy. 

An Evening :- Singapore river walk from Clarke Quay to Marina Bay. Spend a whole day here. Enjoy light show in the evening.This place has so many attractions. The famous Singapore Flyer, the Merlion, Gardens by the bay, beautiful parks, luxurious brands and hotel Fullerton and hotel Marina Bay Sands.

Universal Studios:- The transformer ride at Universal Studios. And yes it is so remarkable like an another dimension. Start your day with this ride then go for others. And try all. Mummy Return, Jurassic park are other delights. Always buy express pass to avoid long queue and avoid going on weekends, learn from our mistakes. We waited for one and half hour in a queue just for transformer ride.

The set of Steven Spielberg movie’s. OMG! I was so thrilled to experience it. Now I have an idea how they make larger than life movies kinda Titanic.

Food:- Being vegetarian it is little difficult to get much options. So I usually depended on my favourite English breakfast and delicious ice creams. I have a sweet tooth. I tried a lot of deserts. But on the other hand my husband is non vegetarian, so for him, it was a delight. Singapore has ample to offer specially sea food. Just remember you have to pay for the water too in the restaurants.

This trip special for us. Almost after 2 years we spent some quality time together. Hope you enjoyed reading.

One thought on “Singapore

  1. Beautifully written Shilpa , and getting to know about so many places over there is just surprising for me as I was in an impression that Singapore is only good for 2-3 days so I always wondered , what this city has to offer and more over never did the digging on it…. now that you have described it all … I can see why Singapore is a choice of so many people 😀😀😀

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started